CDISC Announces New Board Members

By eCliniqua Staff 

March 15, 2011 | The Clinical Data Interchange Standards Consortium ( CDISC) has added three  members to its Board of Directors, each for a three year term (2011-2013).  Dr. Robert DiLaura, Dr. Eliot Siegel and Dr. Kiyoteru Takenouchi were welcomed to the CDISC Board by Chair, Dr. Frank Rockhold (GSK) last Wednesday.   

Dr. Takenouchi has been an integral part of the development of the Japanese CDISC Coordinating Committee (J3C) since its inception in 2002.  He was elected to the CDISC Board by the CDISC Advisory Board (CAB), which elects one Board member each year. He is currently Corporate Officer, eClinical Business at CMIC Co. Ltd.  Dr. Takenouchi said, "The honor is more than I deserve to be elected to the CDISC Board.  I have been working closely with CDISC for over 10 years now, through the J3C, which I led for the past two years. As the first member of the Board from Japan, I would like to contribute to increasing global CDISC activities."  

Dr. Eliot Siegel is Professor and Vice Chairman of Information Systems for the University of Maryland School of Medicine Department of Diagnostic Radiology and Chief of Radiology for the VA Maryland Healthcare System.  He oversees the National Cancer Institute's cancer Biomedical Informatics Grid (caBIG) Imaging Workspace.  Dr. Siegel pioneered the first filmless enterprise health care system in 1993 and has received multiple subsequent awards for innovation, research and education.  He has a strong interest in the application and development of standards and quantitative imaging techniques for medical images and hopes to help advance CDISC’s standards for diagnostic imaging.  He was recently quoted in Time magazine on the topic of the IBM Watson computing system, which the University Of Maryland School Of Medicine will be helping to develop into a diagnostic tool.   [CDISC is separately collaborating with the IBM Watson Research Labs on an HHS/ONC SHARP (Strategic Health IT Advanced Research Project) Grant through Mayo Clinic.]  

Dr. Robert DiLaura, previously Co-Director of the Bioinformatics Section of the Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) Collaborative for Case Western Reserve University and Cleveland Clinic and now a consultant based in Denver,  said, “Although there is great initial work underway to accelerate the review of clinical trials and approval for regulated drugs and devices, my particular interests with CDISC are to help translate such new discoveries into general practice more quickly, and to make that information more accessible for healthcare providers in hospitals, clinics or private practice. This would include better knowledge management as an integrated component of service delivery and patient care. I am also keenly interested in CDISC facilitating exploration of a more generalizable framework for non-regulated clinical research, since the ability or willingness of investigators to share study data, to collaborate more openly on complex problems, or to be funded and recognized for innovative ‘team’ science is still a challenge.”  

The three new members replace Dr. Tim Jaeger, Dr. Isabelle de Zegher and William Rosen, who have completed their terms on the CDISC Board.  In addition, CDISC will continue to enjoy the service of Sue Dubman, who was re-elected for her second 3-year term beginning 1 January 2011, and the other continuing Directors on the Board:  Paula Brown Stafford (Chair-elect, Quintiles), Dr. Edward Helton (Past-chair, NIH/NCI), Dave Evans (CAB Chair, Octagon), Dr. Steven Hirschfeld (NIH/NICHD), Wayne Kubick (Oracle), Dr. Rebecca Kush (CDISC), Dr. Pierre-Yves Lastic (E3C Lead, Sanofi-Aventis), Dr. Charlie Mead (NIH/NCI), Lauren Shinaberry (CAB Chair-elect, PRA), Shawn Wang (MedXView).  


Add Comment

Text Only 2000 character limit

Page 1 of 1

For reprints and/or copyright permission, please contact Angela Parsons, 781.972.5467.